Manage Sine Active Directory plugin

This article describes some of the administrative tasks, that can be carried out when an Active Directory plugin has been set up a site.

Ben Neale avatar
Written by Ben Neale
Updated over a week ago

On this page:


Overview

As the Team Administrator of your organisation or site, you have access to manage your Sine Active Directory plugin configuration with Microsoft Azure Active Directory.

The following are some of the tasks that you can carry out on the Plugins page via the Admin Dashboard.

  • Create new synchronisation task(s)

  • Manually run synchronisation task

  • Edit current synchronisation task

  • Disable synchronisation task

  • Delete synchronisation task

More details in the following sections of this article.


Before you start

  1. Log in to Sine Core, using your Sine Team Admin credentials

  2. Select Admin Dashboard

  3. Select Configurations tab in the Plugins page and complete a task described in the Detailed instructions section.


Detailed instructions

Create new synchronisation tasks(s)

This applies if your Sine team services multiple different tenants / companies with different Microsoft Azure Active Directory (Microsoft AAD) instances, as part of multi-tenancy. If there is a need to sync more than one Microsoft AAD instance, a new configuration task will need to be created for each instance.

  1. Select the New Configuration button

  2. Select the Active Directory Sync plugin from the dialogue window

  3. Complete the following:

    1. Step 1: Authorise Sine access to Microsoft Azure Active Directory (AAD)

    2. Step 2: Map Sine Host Groups with Microsoft Azure Active Directory (AAD)
      Important: Do not map the same Host Group more than once. Any given Host
      Group should be mapped only in one configuration to avoid conflicting data.

    3. Step 3: Save and activate configuration

    4. Step 4: If required, manually run the task


Edit current synchronisation task

You can edit only the current mapping or the Sync Task Name. Unlinking the Microsoft AAD account from the task will delete any mappings you have already created.

  1. Select a Synchronisation Task

  2. Select the More button (…) > Select Edit

  3. Edit the required detail

  4. Select Save.


Manually run synchronisation task

Applies to a synchronisation task that is currently Active.

  1. Select a Synchronisation Task

  2. Select the More button (…) > Select Run

  3. Note the tasks status will be updated to Running.


Disable synchronisation task

Applies to a synchronisation task that is currently Active

  1. Select a Synchronisation Task

  2. Select the More button (…) > Select Disable

  3. Note the tasks status will be updated to Disable.


Delete synchronisation task

This will delete the Microsoft AAD authorisation and mapping between Sine Host groups and Microsoft AAD. You will still have access to Sine Host groups via Sine Core.

  1. Select a Synchronisation Task

  2. Select the More button (…) > Select Delete

  3. A confirmation message is displayed.

  4. Select Delete Configuration to delete the synchronisation task.

Did this answer your question?