Data retention enables you to set a custom data retention policy for your site, and automate the deletion of pass data. When you set a retention period, any passes that fall outside of this period will be automatically and permanently deleted on a rolling basis.

By default, data retention settings will be turned off for your site. To set or update data retention policies, you will need to have Site Administrator or Team Administrator permission levels.

Setting your data retention policy

Data retention policies are managed at a site level. To get started, click Sites and then navigate to the Settings for the site you want to update.

Within the Passes section, you will find Data Retention settings.

Click Create Retention Policy to start setting your policy.

To create your policy, there are two value you need to set—retention period unit and retention period value. Select if you want your retention period expressed in days, weeks, months or years, and then enter the number of units.

When you are ready to set your policy, click Save Policy.

Before your changes are actioned, you will be asked to enter your account password and confirm the data retention policy you have set.

As part of this process, the system will confirm any existing data that is set to be deleted and the date that first deletion will take place.

Once your policy is set and data is deleted, it can not be retrieved.

Editing and reverting your retention policy

If you have set a data retention policy, you can easily edit the policy or turn it off all together. Simply select Edit Retention Policy and then enter your changes, or select Turn-Off Policy.

Note: Changing or turning off your policy will not restore data that has previously been deleted, it will only begin to retain data in accordance with the new policy, based on the date these changes are made.

Did this answer your question?